Multi-Housing News: MHN Celebrates 2011 Excellence Winners at Ohm in NYC

September 22, 2011

MHN hosted a cocktail party on Monday, September 19 in honor of its 2011 MHN Excellence Award winners and finalists. The event was held at Ohm, a luxury apartment property in West Chelsea. Event sponsors included Benoit & Associates, Douglaston Development and PropertyShark.

MHN Editor-in-Chief Diana Mosher kicked off the event by leading a Q &A with Steven Charno, president of Douglaston Development, the developer of Ohm. They discussed the building’s location at the recently opened north end of the Highline Park and the project’s unique design features. Charno credited Ohm’s success to the vision of the project team, which included Levine Builders, Stephen B. Jacobs Group, Andi Pepper Interior Design, and American Leisure. The property is managed by Clinton Management.

Immediately following the discussion, Mosher announced the Excellence Award winners:

  • Multi-Housing Community of the Year: Pacific Beacon: Clark Realty Management (Finalist Fitzgerald: The Bozzuto Group)

  • Executive of the Year: Henry Cisneros, CityView

  • Leasing Agent of the Year: Brian Parent, Fairfield Residential

  • Property Manager of the Year: Sheri Garner, Fairfield Residential

  • Best Transaction: Beech Street Capital

  • Best Brokerage Firm: CB Richard Ellis

  • Property Management Company of the Year: Bozzuto Management Company (Finalist Morgan Properties)

  • Development Company of the Year: Douglaston Development

  • Marketing Program of the Year: The Fitzgerald: The Bozzuto Group (Finalist be@schermerhorn, Jamestown Properties)

  • Best Renovation: Hollywood Tower: Alliance Residential with David Forbes Hibbert Architects and Ryan Young Interiors (Finalist Avalon Burbank: AvalonBay Communities with ARK Architects)

  • Best New Development/Garden: Ralston Courtyards: The Towbes Group with CSA Architects

  • Best New Development/Low-Rise: Citrus Square: L’Orange Inc. with Jonathan Parks Architect

  • Best New Development/Mid-Rise: Broadstone Enso: Alliance Residential with Myhre Group and Lyndon West (Finalists: 1) Mill District: Village Green with BKV Group; and

  • 2) The Fitzgerald: Bozzuto Group with RD Jones + Associates, Design Collective, Ziger Snead, DW Green Associates)

  • Best New Development/High-Rise: The Austonian: Benchmark Development with Ziegler Cooper Architects (Finalist Ohm: Douglaston Development with Levine Builders, Stephen B. Jacobs Group, Andi Pepper Interior Design, American Leisure)

  • Best New Development/Adaptive Reuse: Pacific Cannery Lofts: Holliday Development with David Baker + Partners (Finalist Carriage House: Broad Mill Development Group with Studio MSA and Gustavo Martinez)

  • Best New Development/Workforce: Mission Walk: Bridge Housing with Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects (Finalist Ten Fifty B, Affirmed Housing with Martinez and Cutri Architects)

  • Best New Development/Low-Income: Tassafaronga Village: Oakland Housing Authority with David Baker + Partners and Marie Fisher Interior Design

  • Best New Development/Seniors: Magnolia Court: Affirmed Housing Group with Studio E Architects

“This year’s Excellence Awards celebration drew an interesting crowd of multi-housing executives. We were excited to see how many traveled from out of town to accept their awards,” said Mosher, “and some brought multiple team members to participate in the celebration. MHN congratulates all the 2011 winners and finalists. And we thank Douglaston Development for partnering with us. Ohm was a fantastic venue that also provided an educational component for attendees interested in the development of the West Chelsea neighborhood of Manhattan.”

The competition was judged in New York in July. The 2011 panel of judges was comprised of: Donald Davidoff, senior vice president of strategic systems, Archstone; Mercedes Farrando, international associate AIA, director of design services, Beacon Communities; Daniel Hilpert, managing director, Mortgage Equicap LLC; Sanford Steinberg, AIA, CGP, principal, Steinberg Design Collaborative LLP; Doug Walker, former senior vice president-transactions, UDR.