Normal left montage imageNormal middle montage imageNormal right montage image

Maryland Chamber of Commerce to Induct Three Into the Maryland Business Hall of Fame

May 06, 2011

Annapolis, MD (May 4, 2011) - The Maryland Chamber of Commerce will induct three outstanding business leaders into its Maryland Business Hall of Fame on Wednesday, May 4, during its Annual Membership Meeting and Business Hall of Fame Awards Dinner at the Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport.

“This year’s inductees are exceptional business leaders who have made a meaningful impact on Maryland’s economy and in our communities,” said Maryland Chamber President/CEO Kathleen T. Snyder, CCE.

This year’s inductees are:

R. Neal Black, President & CEO, JoS. A. Bank Clothiers, Inc.

Neal Black is a member of the JoS. A. Bank Executive Committee that planned and executed the company’s growth strategy beginning in 1999.  By the end of 2009, the company more than quadrupled its sales and increased its profits by a factor of more than forty times, with merchandise strategies stressing global sourcing, gross margin enhancement, and product innovation. Prior to being named Chief Executive Officer, Black was responsible for all merchandising and marketing functions at JoS. A. Bank, including design, product development, sourcing, merchandise management, planning and allocation, retail advertising, visual presentation, catalog, and internet. Black has over 30 years of retail management experience in merchandise management, sourcing, product development, and marketing. Prior to joining JoS. A. Bank, Black held positions at Saks Incorporated, Venture Stores, and Gottschalks Incorporated.  He started his career at May Company Department Stores. He has a bachelor’s degree from the University of Illinois.

Thomas S. Bozzuto, Chairman & CEO, The Bozzuto Group

During Tom Bozzuto’s more than forty-year career, he has overseen and been responsible for the creation of almost 50,000 residential units with a conservatively estimated value of nearly $7 billon. In 1988, Tom established The Bozzuto Group of companies with John Slidell, Rick Mostyn and the late Bernie Lubcher.  Today, the companies provide a broad range of real estate services, including development, management, homebuilding, acquisitions and construction.  In his role as CEO, Bozzuto directs the development, construction and management of income-producing and for-sale housing in metropolitan areas located throughout the East Coast. A graduate of Hobart College, Tom has a master’s degree in Metropolitan Studies from the Maxwell School of Syracuse University. A Congressional Appointee to the Millennial Housing Commission, he has served several terms as a Gubernatorial Appointee to the Maryland Housing Commission and is also active in numerous industry and community organizations.  In 2008, Tom was honored as recipient of ULI Washington’s annual Lifetime Achievement Award and in 2010 was recognized as Delta Associates’ 2010 Private Sector TrendSetter of the Year.

Maurice B. Tosé, Chairman & CEO, TeleCommunication Systems, Inc.

In 1987, Mr. Tosé and his wife, Teri, founded TeleCommunication Systems, Inc. (TCS) in Annapolis and proceeded to transform the small IT-related business into a publicly traded, high-technology innovator with more than 1,300 employees in the U.S. and abroad.  TCS has acquired five companies since 2009 and in 2010 posted $389 million in revenue, which reflects a compounded annual growth rate of more than 30 percent from 2005 to 2010. Under Tosé’s leadership, TCS has established a proven track record as a trusted provider of highly reliable and secure wireless communication technology. TCS infrastructure and solutions are at the forefront of mobile cloud computing, providing wireless applications for navigation, hyper-local search, asset tracking, social applications and telematics. For cellular networks around the world, TCS is a leader in text messaging and location-based services, including E9-1-1 call routing. For U.S. federal agencies and international customers, TCS provides cyber security and IT services, in addition to end-to-end, secure, satellite-based solutions, including deployable ground terminals, precision components, field support, and teleport and bandwidth access. Tosé graduated from the United States Naval Academy with a Bachelor of Science degree in Operations Analysis. He remains involved with his alma mater and serves on the Board of Directors of the U.S. Naval Academy Foundation.  He serves as a member on the Federal Communications Commission’s (FCC) Communications Security, Reliability and Interoperability Council.  He is a board member of CTIA-The Wireless Association® and a member of the Maryland Governor’s International Advisory Council.

The Maryland Business Hall of Fame was established by the Maryland Chamber of Commerce in 2000 to recognize the accomplishments of entrepreneurs and business executives whose contributions, in business and in the community, have helped advance the quality of life for Marylanders and improve the state's business climate. Individuals are nominated throughout the year by members of the Maryland Chamber of Commerce. The Chamber's Executive Committee selects the inductees, who are honored each year during the Maryland Chamber's Annual Membership Meeting and Business Hall of Fame Awards Dinner.

Including this year’s inductees, there are 35 members of the Maryland Business Hall of Fame. Previous inductees include:

  • Kenneth R. Banks, Banks Contracting Co., Inc.
  • Karen Myers, Wisp Resort Development, Inc.
  • H. Thomas Watkins,Human Genome Sciences
  • William Couper, Bank of America
  • June Streckfus, Maryland Business Roundtable for Education
  • William R. Teel Jr., 1 Source Consulting, Inc. and Energy Enterprise Solutions, LLC
  • Linda Gooden, Lockheed Martin Information Systems & Global Services
  • Karen H. Oertel, W.H. Harris Seafood Inc. and Harris Crab House
  • John J. Oliver Jr. (Jake), The Afro American Newspapers
  • Sister Helen Amos, RSM, Mercy Health Services
  • Jeong Kim, Ph.D., Bell Labs at Alcatel-Lucent
  • Walter Sondheim, Jr. (posthumously), Greater Baltimore Committee
  • Susan J. Ganz, Lion Brothers Co., Inc.
  • Stephen A. Geppi, Diamond Comic Distributors
  • John P. McDaniel, MedStar Health
  • Roger R. Blunt, P.E., Blunt Enterprises, LLC
  • Ronald R. Peterson, The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System and Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • Marge Thomas, Goodwill Industries of the Chesapeake, Inc.
  • John M. Derrick, Jr., Pepco Holdings, Inc
  • Eddie C. Brown, Brown Capital Management, Inc.
  • Robert J. Lawless, McCormick & Company, Inc.
  • Wayne T. Hockmeyer, Ph.D., MedImmune, Inc.
  • Brice and Shirley Phillips, Phillips Seafood
  • Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • Henry S. Rosenberg, Jr., Rosemore, Inc.and Crown Central Petroleum
  • John Paterakis, H&S Bakery,Inc and Northeastern Foods, Inc.
  • Stephen A. Burch, Comcast Mid-Atlantic Division
  • J.W. Marriott, Jr., Marriott International, Inc.
  • Christian H. Poindexter, Constellation Energy Group
  • Cathy L. Hughes, Radio One
  • Raymond A. “Chip” Mason, Legg Mason
  • Frank Perdue, Perdue Fames, Inc.

The Maryland Chamber of Commerce is a non-profit coalition of 800 businesses who employ more than 442,000 people in the state. Its mission is to maximize opportunities for its members and their employees to grow and prosper. For more information about the Chamber, visit its website, or call (410) 269-0642 or (301) 261-2858.